David Lynch Foundation Music Compilation Features Songs by Well-Known Recording Artists

david lynch self-portrait 2011 P

David Lynch Foundation Comp Features Songs by Maroon 5, Moby, Darryl Hannah

The 33-track digital album “Download For Good: Music That Changes The World” benefits the filmmaker’s nonprofit organization which offers stress-reducing Transcendental Meditation to underserved populations.

More than 30 artists representing multiple genres have contributed to a compilation benefitting the David Lynch Foundation, a not-for-profit educational organization founded by the iconic director which offers stress-reducing Transcendental Meditation to underserved populations including at-risk inner-city youth, U.S. veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless and prisoners.

Download For Good: Music That Changes The World features live cuts, remixes, covers (a highlight: Au Revoir Simone’s take on Don Henley‘s “Boys of Summer”) and original songs by the likes of Peter Gabriel, Moby, Alanis Morissette, Neon Trees, Arrested Development, Nancy Sinatra, Ozomatli and Maroon 5 along with a handful of curious collaborations. Among them: The Police guitarist Andy Summers with opera singer Geeta Novotny, who team up for “Ave Maria,” and the Johnny Cash-meets-Leonard Cohen lament “Won’t You Stay” by Pink Jaffee (AKA Ran Pink and Foo Fighters sideman Rami Jaffee) with Daryl Hannah (Jaffe’s girlfriend) and Jakob Dylan (Jaffe’s Wallflowers bandmate) on background vocals.

“The artists who have shared their music are spreading happiness,” says David Lynch in a statement. “With their music alone they’re supporting programs that take away suffering and bring bliss to many people.”

Adds Iggy Pop, who contributed the Americana classic “Milk Cow Blues:” “I knew David was a good blues singer and a free spirit, so I thought I’d record a blues song, especially for this record. This is just the way I play for my own pleasure, around the house. I think it flowed out really well. I mean, I could feel the TM seeping in.”

The 33-song compilation is available exclusively at iTunes. See the full track listing below.

1. Ozomatli, “MONSTER”
2. Iggy Pop, “Milk Cow Blues”
3. Pink Jaffee with Jakob Dylan & Daryl Hannah, “Won’t You Stay”
4. Maroon 5, “The Air I Breathe”
5. Arrested Development, “Let It Go”
6. Peter Gabriel, “Curtains”
7. Carmen Rizzo with Grant-Lee Phillips, “Bring the Mountain Down”
8. Donovan, “Listen”
9. Heather Nova, “Doubled Up”
10. Andy Summers with Geeta Novotny, “Ave Maria”
11. Dave Stewart, “Man To Man”
12. Mary Hopkin, “Gold and Silver”
13. Tom Waits, “The Briar and The Rose” (Live)
14. Ben Folds, “Wild Mountain Thyme”
15. Slightly Stoopid with Don Carlos, “Wiseman” (Live at Black Water)
16. Salman Ahmad with Valerie Geffner, “Natchoon Gi”
17. Neon Trees, “Animal” (DJs From Mars Remix)
18. Au Revoir Simone, “Boys Of Summer”
19. Alanis Morissette, “20/20”
20. Ben Lee, “Food For The Moon”
21. Waterboys, “In The Beginning Was Love”
22. Moby, “The Poison Tree”
23. The Charlatans, “The Only One I Know” (RMX with Factory Floor)
24. Julio Iglesias Jr., “Geronimo”
25. Nancy Sinatra, “End of the World” (Remix)
26. Special Beat with Pauline Black, “Nightclub” (Live)
27. Peter & Gordon, “True Love Ways” (Live)
28. Band From TV, “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”
29. Phil Soussan, “Shot In The Dark”
30. Rodrigo y Gabriela, “Satori” (Live)
31. Patricia Kaas, “Ddicte Aux Heroines” (Remix)
32. EMIN, “All I Need Tonight”
33. Amanda Palmer, “In My Mind” (Alternative Mix)

Also see USA TODAY: David Lynch drops a musical compilation; NME: Tom Waits, Iggy Pop, Amanda Palmer for David Lynch’s meditation compilation, Alanis Morissette, Ben Folds, Moby also contribute to new release; Paste: David Lynch Releases Compilation Album for Charity; Icon vs. iconIconic Film Director Launches ‘Download For Good’; Star-Studded Digital Music Compilation; GAFFA: Stjerner støtter David Lynch-fonden, Tom Waits, Iggy Pop og Donovan har bidraget med numre til ny støtteplade; The Post ChronicleDavid Lynch Teams With Stars For Charity Album; Express.co.ukSTARS LINK WITH LYNCH FOR CHARITY ALBUM; Kink: Tom Waits, Iggy Pop e.v.a. op TM verzamelalbum David Lynch; Female First: Stars Link With Lynch For Charity Album; Huffington Post: Amanda Palmer Discusses the Launch of David Lynch Foundation Music; contactmusic: Alanis Morissette – Stars Link With Lynch For Charity Album; spinner: David Lynch Releases Star-Studded ‘Download for Good’ Charity Compilation; exclaim.ca: David Lynch Beefs Up and Releases Benefit Comp Featuring Tom Waits, Peter Gabriel, Iggy PopPipoca Moderna: Alanis, Maroon 5, Iggy Pop e outros gravam CD para David Lynch, Examiner.com: Beatle friends, others band together for iTunes David Lynch TM compilationWirtualna Polska: Iggy Pop i Peter Gabriel medytują z Davidem Lynchem and Zobacz składankę Davida Lyncha; Music Feeds: David Lynch Releases Star-Studded Charity Album, Detroit Free Press; Monitorul de Suceava; OpenSpace.ru; Тренд; Day.Az; Look To The Stars: David Lynch Launches Music That Changes The World; Gear4music: Superstar musicians contribute to David Lynch’s new compilation album; ChartAttack: I Read The News Today… For July 14, 2011; Transcendental Meditation Blog: David Lynch Releases ‘Download for Good’ Charity Compilation; 20 Minutes Online: David Lynch fait ses débuts dans las musiques; Pitchfork Media; Plain Dealer: 9. CLICK TO LISTEN; Caller-Times: Complilation offers chance to meditate.

One Response to “David Lynch Foundation Music Compilation Features Songs by Well-Known Recording Artists”

  1. Dave Stewart and Jihae sang “Man to Man, Woman to Woman” for Transcendental Music, now official theme song for Walk A Mile campaign « The Uncarved Blog Says:

    […] to earlier related articles: David Lynch Foundation Music Compilation Features Songs by Well-Known Recording Artists and David Lynch offers music […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: